The Making of Mouse

I’ve been painting a mouse in the world of my watercolour art for about 6 months now.

This could be one of those unanswered questions about where he came from that I may never have an answer.

My family and I were planning a trip to the sun this past February to escape the gloomy grey of our winter weather. The dates of our holiday happened to coincide with both Valentines Day  and my wedding anniversary.  Playing around one day with my paints,  this little guy popped onto the page.

 

IMG_5842

He has continued to show up as an artful expression ever since, and now I can’t imagine my life without him.

He helped me count down the days to my departure on a recent trip to France where I was lucky enough to attend a painting and sketching retreat.

IMG_6996

 

IMG_7192

I knew it might be a bit tricky and messy to be painting while I was in planes and on subways and it occurred to me that mymouse might need to come off the pages and into the 3D world as my travelling companion.  This is how it all began.

IMG_7179

I have some old x-ray films in my studio left over from days gone by when I made small jointed mohair teddy bears. I used a piece to create his template and when I held it up to the sun I  couldn’t help but notice it looked like he had real organs !

DSC_6331

 

Slowly piece by piece he came together using my old doll making patterns fashioning them into the shape of a mouse.

 

DSC_6337 DSC_6338 DSC_6339 DSC_6342 DSC_6367 DSC_6375

 

DSC_6389

 

DSC_6396 DSC_6398 DSC_6408 DSC_6412

He had to be the colour grey of course .

DSC_6413 DSC_6416

And then he had to dry , of course .

DSC_6420 DSC_6428 DSC_6429 DSC_6436 DSC_6437 DSC_6439 DSC_6440 DSC_6441 DSC_6442

And what to wear when travelling became a topic of conversation.

DSC_6645                  He was ready for his first adventure finally .  IMG_7207

He made new friends along the way.IMG_7505                Lost luggage and had to have a new sweater made.

 

IMG_7556

And he loved the painting in France .

IMG_7570 IMG_7790                Like any traveller he came home with a camera full of photos.IMG_7308

IMG_7721

He’ll share them here when ‘we’ can get organized , but at least now he has been introduced.

Next post will be on finding a name for him.  And yes he finally has a name.

29 thoughts on “The Making of Mouse

  1. Oh, Sandy! THIS Is GREAT! What fun this post was to read along with the artwork and the making of your little friend! Way cool! (I secretly envy you your talent.) Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait for more adventures to be posted here!

  2. OMGosh! Sandy, this was wonderful! It was great following how he popped up, a little image that materialized in full 3-D. This would make a great storybook series. You have a Muse-Mouse, that is a lovely thing! 🙂

    • Hi Indigene ! And yes I would have to say that it’s a bit crazy for me too to think he materialized out of ‘thin air’ and can’t imagine my life without him now. He is indeed my ‘Muse-Mouse’.. Very clever of you .

    • His wardrobe continues to grow Lulubeas ! had to have hiking boots on a recent trip to the Rockies and a new backpack , hiking poles and a new sweater. Good grief ! So glad you came by to see his life come to life.

    • So glad you came by and left a comment Anna. Very generous with your praise. Thank you ! Yes he’s quite the character already with more personality than I think I can handle. He’s now after me to make him a kilt, so stay tuned for that .

  3. You have so much talent and a whole lot of laughter to share with this little mouse. He’s such a delight and I have so enjoyed seeing him evolve and now to read the whole story through has been wonderful. Yes yes, he’s more than a story book character though, a life changer a 6D character! Bravo! I look forward to your next post on finding a name. 🙂

    • Oh he’s keeping me entertained for sure Suzi. There is a perfect space in our house on the landing to the upper level where he has nestled in and claimed ownership. Pics in following posts .. Once he’s shared some of his trip to France I think he’s getting ready to decorate his yard for Halloween. Stay tuned. And oh my goodness he’s keeping me hopping .. So glad you came by !

  4. Pingback: Welcome Wiston | sandymairart

  5. Your mouse and the adventures he went on are simply awesome Sandy. He makes me smile every time I see him, whether he’s in watercolour form or the real form you have birthed him into. 🙂 I see big things happening for mouse and you in the future. I look forward to following your journey, both of you. 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Lost Sweater | sandymairart

  7. I don’t think I’ve read this post yet! Love reading about how Wiston came to be! Awesome! What material did you use for him? Reminds me of Pinocchio, without the growing nose. Adorable! 🙂 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Sandy. I used regular muslin and stuffed him with fiberfill . But weighted his ‘hands ‘ and ‘feet’ with tiny glass needs so they would hang well . He was painted with acrylic paint using blends of grey until I got it just right .. Yes . Reminded me of Geppetto too . I can relate for sure .

  8. Pingback: January 19, 2015. Around the World Blog Hop | sandymairart

Leave a comment