Gratitude… 11/28/2013

…………….The topic for our November blog circle is GRATITUDE , and I don’t think the timing could be better………..

DSC_4207

 My friends to the south in the United States are just finishing up celebrating Thanksgiving this week and we here in Canada have put away our Thanksgiving paraphenalia after October to pause briefly before launching into December and all that it holds.

” Gratitude turns what we have into enough and more…..It turns denial into acceptance. chaos into order, confusion into clarity…… It makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow. ”

These are the words of Melody Beattie, and they ring true for me.

I want the practise of gratitude to be something that is always with me. When I’m having trouble getting to sleep some nights, I make a list in my mind of things I am grateful for.  I start with things that happened that day, and some times find myself going back to some tiny detail  from my childhood.  And I’ve been amazed in that half awake, half asleep state, at what pops into my head. Some of the most insignificant appearing moments or thoughts are all that it takes.

There have been times in the past when I’ve needed to be more intentional than ever with this practise especially when life’s challenging phases wiggle their way in.  But it does seem to get easier and easier the more I treat the word gratitude as a verb not a noun.

I have so many things to be grateful for right here, right now, today , that if I started a list I might not be able to stop.

 I would for sure begin with where I live.DSC_3180 And I feel so lucky to call this my back yard.DSC_2791

 DSC_3718.

My home is where I wrap myself in a sense of belonging. It fuels my creative life without a doubt.  This environment on and near the ocean impacts my daily life and that of my family ( which is what I am MOST grateful for ). Yes I would have to start there…..It’s truly a beautiful part of the world.   And honestly I never take it for granted . I live on the east side of an Island and this is what the west side of the island looks like .  My family and I were lucky enough to spend time here during our recent Thanksgiving holiday, and how can I be any more grateful than to have shared the time with them making memories.

DSC_3755

 And really, to have a husband who likes to cook.. I would have to stop and start on that point too.                              DSC_3757

‘His’ Thanksgiving meal of  lamb, squash, and polenta with gorganzola cheese and roasted pecans ? Well that is a whole LOT of grateful.

My kids, all 3 now adults, their partners, their little people ( all 6 ) and a husband who has weathered through life’s fair share of ups and downs over a span of 39 years is what makes my heart soar.

My mother was 23 years old when I was born and my dad was 2 days shy of his 25th birthday.  Amazingly enough I was their 3rd child.    I can not begin to express HOW GRATEFUL I am that their incredible attitude about gratitude came to me through them.

IMG_5389

They gave me my spirit, my drive, my creative force, my sense of humour and to that I can never say Thank YOU enough.

So grateful you stopped by for a visit. Come with me and hop over to the next spot on this blog circle and visit my friend Michelle Hill here and read her thoughts on Gratitude.

19 thoughts on “Gratitude… 11/28/2013

  1. Isn’t it amazing how when we start those lists of things we are thankful for, the list can go on and on and on? It has kept me up quite a few times because that overwhelming feeling of gratitude just fuels my soul. Thank you for sharing and inspiring.

  2. So glad you came by Debbie XX…I know, can you believe my husband watches cooking shows on TV ? I believe without knowing it he uses cooking as his creative expression. He claims he doesn’t have an artistic bone in his body , but I say NOT. His meals are an inspiration to us all. He gets to walk away from his mess, and that is okay with me.

  3. Hi Sandy, Wow, what a stunning garden and greenhouse you have – I am in love! Can you remind me of where you are again (Vancouver Island?). I’m in Metro Vancouver and the scenery in your pics looks a lot like home. I love your outlook and positivity. That’s the way to approach life. Thanks for inspiring me. Sending love, Ginger

    • So glad you came by Ginger. You and I share the same landscape and I think of that as I watch your art career grow. Hope to meet someday, and share a big artful hug !
      I thought this idea of doing a gratitude post was great and I loved reading everyone’s unique approach to the topic. Thanks for your thoughtful comments and for taking the time to connect. XX

  4. Hi Sandy, lovely post and beautiful pictures! They remind me of the Oregon coast. It seems like a lot of creative folks live by water. Maybe there is something to that. I agree with you that cooking is an art form, especially if you put in your own touches to enhance a recipe.

    • So glad you came by Lisa… Where I live is similar to the Oregon coast, you’re right .And you’re also right about creative folks living by the water. I think the movement of it and the reflection of the sky in it as well as the wildlife that live in and around water are also inspiring to us artful types. I have a feeling I will always live by the water. Having said that, when I went to visit Santa Fe a few years ago ( filled with other artful souls ) I was struck by the beauty of the sun in the desert. It was so interesting to me !
      And if you could just see how my husband plates out the food he cooks, they are little masterpieces. Pretty fun to watch
      ( and eat 🙂

  5. Oh Sandy what a beautiful place to live… It’s my dream to live near the ocean, I never feel more alive than when I’m standing on the beach, listening to its soothing breathing sound. Thank you so much for sharing these glimpses of your life. xo Laly

    • Oh Laly what a beautiful way to describe the ocean …that it breaths ….I’ve never used that as a descriptive, but it’s perfect. And I AM grateful for what I look out on every day. It is a never ending source of inspiration as an artist. Even the bleak greyness of the winter skies fill me with a feeling of being quieted somehow. I so often think of you in your ‘ nest ‘ because we both moved into our new spaces around the same time. Thanks for taking the time to come by and say hi …XX

  6. Pingback: Gratitude

  7. Pingback: Gratitude

  8. You live in such a beautiful place! I, too never take where I live for granted. Every day I’m so thankful for the mountains, this gorgeous postcard I live in. Your post made me crave some lamb! I love lamb. Thank you for sharing all of your blessings! You are truly amazing and blessed!

    • Oh Hi Amy… so glad you stopped by to say hello ! And I’m really happy you soldiered on with us in the blog circle. And glad we all persevered .. Such a great way to get to know everyone a bit better don’t you think ? The perfect time of year too I think to just stop and think about being grateful . My favourite scene in the movie ‘ Polyanna ‘ (referenced by Lisa I think in her comment post ) was the same for me. When Haley Mills played the ‘Glad Game’ with that cranky older woman. Even as a child watching that, I thought it was brilliant. I guess I haven’t changed ..
      Hugs to you.

    • Hi Amy. So glad you came by. Realizing this is from Dec. when we were all drowning in Xmas, sorry it’s so late in saying thanks. Now I’ll think of you whenever I’m having lamb !

  9. Your life sounds pretty darn sweeeeet to me. And I want that Thanksgiving dinner!!!! So glad you are so happy and that you are so aware of all the goodness around you. Great blog!

Leave a Reply

